Paul C. Buff, Inc. Technical Forum

Technical Discussion Forum for all Paul C. Buff, Inc. Products

Login

Post a reply
 [ 14 posts ] 

Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:37 pm

I'm new here so forgive me if this question has been raised before, but does anyone else out there wish these strobes had some kind of handle to grab on to?

I'm going to switch from the brand of monolights I currently use (that also does not have a handle) to Einsteins.

Not a big deal, since I've been using monolights this way for 5+ years, it just makes adjusting large softboxes a bit more difficult.

Bill F

http://picasaweb.google.com/faulknerstudios

Top Top

#

Sun Jan 31, 2010 6:55 pm

I agree - a handle could be a nice addition to the current design. Perhaps a 1/4" threaded opening could be incorporated into the back of the units, where a short optional handle could screw in.

Top Top

Website

#

Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:45 pm

The MPW studio has Elinchroms, which have a "trademark" handle. Two of the 6 are broken. I've never been in a studio that had Elinchroms where at least one handle wasn't broken.

Sure, handles on the lights are great, if you can somehow make them "unbreakable".

Top Top

#

Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:11 pm

Joseph S. Wisniewski wrote:
The MPW studio has Elinchroms, which have a "trademark" handle. Two of the 6 are broken. I've never been in a studio that had Elinchroms where at least one handle wasn't broken.

Sure, handles on the lights are great, if you can somehow make them "unbreakable".

If they were a plastic (even though they do some great things with plastic now-a-days) I can see where they might break. If they were aluminum I don't think it would be a problem.

I've actually sketched out a handle idea that I'll try when I get my Einsteins. If it works I'll let folks know.

Bill F

Top Top

#

Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:31 pm