Paul C. Buff, Inc. Technical Forum

Technical Discussion Forum for all Paul C. Buff, Inc. Products

Login | Register

Post a reply
 [ 18 posts ] 

Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:32 am

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:54 pm
Posts: 3

I just received 4 new Einsteins. Enclosed was info stating that the lights were shipped with 150w modeling lights installed. The modeling info on the back of the light shows 250w's at full power. If I change the 250w info to reflect the 150w output, the actual output is something lower than 150w's because the modeling light dims. Am I missing something? Can the info be changed from the 250w max to 150w max to correspond with the modeling light installed?




Top Top
Profile
 

#

Fri Nov 18, 2011 10:51 am

Site Admin
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 10:43 am
Posts: 4601

Currently, there is not a way to change the display to read 150W. We are evaluating this now.



_________________
TS
info@paulcbuff.com
1-800-443-5542


Top Top
Profile
 

#

Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:24 pm

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:24 pm
Posts: 36

Good to know.




Top Top
Profile
 

#

Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:36 pm

Site Admin
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 10:43 am
Posts: 4601

BTW. E640's are shipped with both the 150W and 250W lamps.



_________________
TS
info@paulcbuff.com
1-800-443-5542


Top Top
Profile
 

#

Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:48 pm

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:58 pm
Posts: 213

Technical Support wrote:
BTW. E640's are shipped with both the 150W and 250W lamps.



Hmmm. I just got my 4 replacement units this summer, only came with one modeling bulb for each....




Top Top
Profile
 
Website
 

#

Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:02 pm

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 11:24 am
Posts: 5

BDP wrote:
Technical Support wrote:
BTW. E640's are shipped with both the 150W and 250W lamps.



Hmmm. I just got my 4 replacement units this summer, only came with one modeling bulb for each....


150 or 250? thx




Top Top
Profile
 

#

Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:04 pm

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:58 pm
Posts: 213

Turning wrote:
BDP wrote:
Technical Support wrote:
BTW. E640's are shipped with both the 150W and 250W lamps.



Hmmm. I just got my 4 replacement units this summer, only came with one modeling bulb for each....


150 or 250? thx



will have to check--I assumed 250, as I saw no mention of anything else being shipped before




Top Top
Profile
 
Website
 

#

Fri Nov 18, 2011 4:58 pm

Site Admin
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 10:43 am
Posts: 4601

All units have shiped with a 250W. Some recent ones (the past few weeks) have a 150W bulb as well.



_________________
TS
info@paulcbuff.com
1-800-443-5542


Top Top
Profile
 

#

Sat Nov 19, 2011 8:11 pm

Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:19 pm
Posts: 164

Technical Support wrote:
All units have shiped with a 250W. Some recent ones (the past few weeks) have a 150W bulb as well.



Why, if I may ask?

Dave F.




Top Top
Profile
 

#

Mon Nov 21, 2011 3:38 pm

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:24 pm
Posts: 36

I asked customer service about this when I was adjusting my order. They said it was to reduce heat, particularly if you tend to leave the modeling lights on for extended periods of time.

I'm sure Tech Support will correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe they are thinking that heat could be one of the factors that causes the finger springs to weaken over time, ultimately losing their ability to hold a modifier. There have been a couple posts about this recently, and it's different than the issue of certain ill-fitting ring inserts that do not allow the mount fingers to return all the way to the locking position.




Top Top
Profile
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a reply
 [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], DJP, Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to: