Paul C. Buff, Inc. Technical Forum

Technical Discussion Forum for all Paul C. Buff, Inc. Products

Login

Post a reply
 [ 9 posts ] 

Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:50 pm

When I called the paul c. buff customer service number, the service rep. clearly told me that if I was concerned about color temp. shifts to buy the einsteins over the alien bees. She said that with multi light setup I could run into problems with different color temps on the monolights. Based on what I have read, it seems like this can happen to any light, when the lights are set at different power levels (full power and half power, etc.) I am not very technical so I need this simplified for me... I basically need to know if its worth investing the extra money in the einsteins based solely on their color temp consistency when using multiple lights at different power output settings. Thank you

Top Top

#

Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:50 am

Site Admin

Color temperature will shift about 80K per stop on any light light that uses voltage regulation for power control. Power is adjusted on these lights by sliders, knobs or buttons (like on a TV remote), and are pretty much standard on most mono lights like Alien Bees, White Lightning, Profoto, Elinchrom, Photogenic, etc.. Some mono lights and many pack and head systems will use capacitor switching for power control. This leads to no color shift, but less fine adjustments in power. Often, if the capacitor switching is used, it will be accompanied by voltage regulation for the finer control. This method is used in Zeus, some WLX series lights, and many others.

Einstein, however, is a different breed of light, using IGBT control. With this implementation, we can keep the fine power control and keep the color temperature constant.

However, with any light of any color, the color temperature will change based on the modifier. So, even with "perfect" color from the flash, the color temperature will still have potential for being different.