Paul C. Buff, Inc. Technical Forum

Technical Discussion Forum for all Paul C. Buff, Inc. Products

Login

Post a reply
 [ 11 posts ] 

Wed Jul 10, 2013 8:04 pm

Hi there.

I'm a rookie in Studio flash, I only have two SB 900s and a Nikon D90.

Recently I bought the Pocket Wizard system, and I found out that SB 900 still can't

conquer the sun during HyperSync.

I'm going to buy a E640 for sure, but there are too many light modifiers.

Your official site have description,but without the photo to compare,

rookie like me still can't tell the difference.

The PLM systems, reflectors, and softboxes...

I'm really confused about all these accessories.

I shoot products and motorcycle mainly.

Which modifier do I need most?

or could you please recommend some basic books

that teach me about the "light modifier" for studio flash.

English is not my native, hope you can understand.

Does any company in Taiwan come to you and talk about becoming a

authorized dealer of Paul.C.Buff ?

Then maybe I'll wait a little bit for dealer in Taiwan rather than buying grey products.

Thanks.

Top Top

#

Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:55 pm

Site Admin

Just about any type of photography can be done with just about any type of modifier. You have to know what kind of look you want to know what kind of modifier to get. It is a somewhat vicious circle of where to start. But, this is where the artistic side of photography lies.

Popular and versatile modifiers are the PLM (specifically the 64" soft silver), beauty dish, and octaboxes with grids. There may be better choices for a specific look and subject.

Customer service can help you figure out specific modifiers, but generally, larger modifiers have softer edges/transitions to shadow. White modifiers have a wide spread, while silver modifiers can have (though they do not have to have) a more controlled/tighter spread. Silver will be more specular than white.